David Goldberg

The American Gastroenterological Association has honored David Goldberg, MD, MSCE (pictured) with its Young Investigator Award and James Lewis, MD, MSCE, with its Distinguished Educator Award. The awards acknowledge outstanding contributions and achievements in gastroenterology. Read more.

Sean Hennessy

Sean Hennessy, PharmD, PhD, has been appointed to a committee of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine, which will review and grade public-health emergency preparedness and response practices. The committee will provide conclusions that communities and public agencies could adopt, and make recommendations for future research to address critical gaps. Read more.

Joel Gelfand

How effective are home-based phototherapy treatments for psoriasis vs. visits to a doctor’s office? Joel M. Gelfand, MD, MSCE, has received $8.6 million from the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute, to find out. Read more.

Peter Reese

A new NIH research network is planning the largest-ever study of urinary-stone disease and prevention, with five centers nationwide; Peter Reese MD, MSCE (pictured) and Greg Tasian, MD, MSc, MSCE lead one of them. The Prevention of Urinary Stones with Hydration (PUSH) study will investigate whether drinking enough fluid can prevent recurrence of this increasingly common condition. Read more.

Doug Wiebe

Gun violence is the leading cause of death for African American 10-to-24 year old young men. But we can measure their risk and improve their odds, showed Douglas Wiebe, PhD, and a Penn team. The study has won Dr. Wiebe the 2017 Kenneth Rothman Prize. Read more.

Susan Ellenberg

During 2014’s deadly Ebola outbreak—with no disease-specific vaccines or therapeutics available—the international community implemented clinical trials on investigational agents, not yet studied in humans for safety or efficacy. Dr. Ellenberg served on the committee that produced the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine’s new report about those trials and the related issues. Read more.

Kit Delgado

Drs. Delgado (pictured) and Wiebe have been named to the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine committee on Accelerating Progress to Reduce Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities. The group is charged with examining which interventions are most promising, and which need to be changed. Read more.

Scott Halpern

The Association for Clinical and Translational Science honored Dr. Halpern with its Distinguished Investigator Award for Translation from Clinical Use into Public Benefit and Policy as well as an additional award. His work promotes fairness and value in how we allocate healthcare resources to seriously ill patients. Read more.

Joel Gelfand

Dr. Gelfand, who was honored with the American Academy of Dermatology’s Marion B. Sulzberger, MD, Memorial Award and Lectureship, shared his thinking on “Getting to the Heart (and Other Comorbidities) of Psoriasis.” “Patients with more severe psoriasis die about five years younger than they should, based on their risk factors for mortality,” he said. Read more.

Sean Hennessy

Shifting public sentiment, conflicting scientific research, and legislative battles have fueled the debate about the harms and benefits of using cannabis. Dr. Hennessy served on the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine committee that produced a comprehensive new review. Read more.

About the CCEB

How can we answer and anticipate the pressing health issues we face together as a society? At the CCEB we rise to that challenge through research and training in epidemiology and in biostatistics. We solve problems facing patients and populations. READ MORE ABOUT CCEB



Follow Us